Connect with us


Presidency reacts to alleged U.S. visa restrictions against Nigeria



PresidencFour new cases of #COVID19 have been reported in Nigeria – three in the FCT and one in Lagos, taking the total number of infections to 139.y speaks on alleged attack on Buhari in Kebbi

The presidency has described as mere speculations the reported planned imposition of visa restrictions on some African and Asian countries including Nigeria by America’s government led by President Donald Trump.

Garba Shehu, Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, stated this in a statement in Abuja on Wednesday.

Some local traditional media organisations including online publications quoted foreign media outfits on Tuesday that the Donald Trump administration had concluded plans to add seven countries across the world, including Nigeria, to the country’s travel ban list.

The affected countries included Nigeria, Sudan, Tanzania and Eritrea from Africa while Kyrgyzstan and Belarus from Eastern Europe and Myanmar from Asia.

The presidential aide, however, said: ”Yes, we have read the news that the Trump administration is planning to add a host of African, Asian and Eastern European countries to its travel restrictions list as reported by the U.S. media.

”We are not going to react to speculations. We urge you to wait for us to see what unfolds under the new policy, its scope, its reach, the implications, and its consequences before we react.”

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. F-2B Visa

    February 9, 2020 at 3:12 am

    The US did already announced the countries to be included in the travel ban and Nigeria along with other African nation was among them. This time around more counties in the Africa have been included in the travel. Just recently the US have lifted the visa restriction on Ghana but then after that more African nation will face restriction as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *